<

Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches Zoutelande are never the same width because of the tides. When you are in Zoutelande, you might want to take a walk on the beach. It is very useful to know what the tide is.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for Westkapelle for the two following months.

April 2017

Monday 24 April
19:36 hrs
-160 cm
Tuesday 25 April
1:29 hrs
194 cm
 
7:56 hrs
-188 cm
 
13:52 hrs
225 cm
 
20:16 hrs
-172 cm
Wednesday 26 April
2:10 hrs
217 cm
 
8:40 hrs
-199 cm
 
14:33 hrs
240 cm
 
20:56 hrs
-181 cm
Thursday 27 April
2:51 hrs
233 cm
 
9:26 hrs
-205 cm
 
15:14 hrs
245 cm
 
21:42 hrs
-187 cm
Friday 28 April
3:34 hrs
241 cm
 
10:08 hrs
-206 cm
 
15:55 hrs
241 cm
 
22:25 hrs
-189 cm
Saturday 29 April
4:15 hrs
241 cm
 
10:56 hrs
-201 cm
 
16:42 hrs
226 cm
 
23:12 hrs
-189 cm
Sunday 30 April
5:02 hrs
231 cm
 
11:38 hrs
-193 cm
 
17:29 hrs
206 cm

May 2017

Monday 1 May
0:00 hrs
-186 cm
 
5:50 hrs
215 cm
 
12:26 hrs
-180 cm
 
18:22 hrs
182 cm
Tuesday 2 May
0:56 hrs
-180 cm
 
6:49 hrs
192 cm
 
13:15 hrs
-164 cm
 
19:24 hrs
157 cm
Wednesday 3 May
1:56 hrs
-171 cm
 
8:06 hrs
172 cm
 
14:25 hrs
-147 cm
 
20:46 hrs
138 cm
Thursday 4 May
3:06 hrs
-162 cm
 
9:20 hrs
158 cm
 
15:45 hrs
-134 cm
 
22:00 hrs
127 cm
Friday 5 May
4:24 hrs
-157 cm
 
10:40 hrs
156 cm
 
17:25 hrs
-134 cm
 
23:16 hrs
133 cm
Saturday 6 May
5:45 hrs
-163 cm
 
11:50 hrs
169 cm
 
18:30 hrs
-144 cm
Sunday 7 May
0:16 hrs
151 cm
 
6:56 hrs
-173 cm
 
12:41 hrs
185 cm
 
19:16 hrs
-152 cm
Monday 8 May
1:05 hrs
168 cm
 
7:31 hrs
-179 cm
 
13:26 hrs
195 cm
 
19:45 hrs
-157 cm
Tuesday 9 May
1:45 hrs
180 cm
 
8:09 hrs
-180 cm
 
14:05 hrs
200 cm
 
20:26 hrs
-162 cm
Wednesday 10 May
2:21 hrs
189 cm
 
8:41 hrs
-179 cm
 
14:41 hrs
202 cm
 
20:56 hrs
-168 cm
Thursday 11 May
2:56 hrs
196 cm
 
9:18 hrs
-178 cm
 
15:16 hrs
202 cm
 
21:36 hrs
-173 cm
Friday 12 May
3:27 hrs
201 cm
 
9:56 hrs
-174 cm
 
15:47 hrs
200 cm
 
22:10 hrs
-175 cm
Saturday 13 May
4:01 hrs
202 cm
 
10:25 hrs
-167 cm
 
16:21 hrs
194 cm
 
22:45 hrs
-172 cm
Sunday 14 May
4:35 hrs
196 cm
 
10:59 hrs
-158 cm
 
16:52 hrs
184 cm
 
23:15 hrs
-166 cm
Monday 15 May
5:05 hrs
186 cm
 
11:30 hrs
-148 cm
 
17:26 hrs
172 cm
 
23:43 hrs
-161 cm
Tuesday 16 May
5:38 hrs
176 cm
 
12:00 hrs
-141 cm
 
17:58 hrs
162 cm
Wednesday 17 May
0:15 hrs
-158 cm
 
6:18 hrs
165 cm
 
12:40 hrs
-134 cm
 
18:35 hrs
148 cm
Thursday 18 May
0:59 hrs
-154 cm
 
7:01 hrs
150 cm
 
13:24 hrs
-125 cm
 
19:33 hrs
131 cm
Friday 19 May
2:16 hrs
-147 cm
 
8:26 hrs
137 cm
 
14:45 hrs
-118 cm
 
20:55 hrs
122 cm
Saturday 20 May
3:40 hrs
-147 cm
 
9:39 hrs
140 cm
 
16:26 hrs
-122 cm
 
22:05 hrs
126 cm
Sunday 21 May
4:35 hrs
-153 cm
 
10:45 hrs
155 cm
 
17:21 hrs
-133 cm
 
23:15 hrs
144 cm
Monday 22 May
5:46 hrs
-164 cm
 
11:48 hrs
180 cm
 
18:10 hrs
-146 cm
Tuesday 23 May
0:12 hrs
170 cm
 
6:41 hrs
-177 cm
 
12:37 hrs
205 cm
 
19:00 hrs
-160 cm
Wednesday 24 May
0:59 hrs
197 cm
 
7:26 hrs
-188 cm
 
13:23 hrs
225 cm
 
19:48 hrs
-173 cm
Thursday 25 May
1:44 hrs
219 cm
 
8:16 hrs
-196 cm
 
14:09 hrs
237 cm
 
20:36 hrs
-182 cm
Friday 26 May
2:28 hrs
234 cm
 
9:00 hrs
-200 cm
 
14:53 hrs
239 cm
 
21:22 hrs
-189 cm
Saturday 27 May
3:14 hrs
241 cm
 
9:46 hrs
-197 cm
 
15:39 hrs
234 cm
 
22:10 hrs
-193 cm
Sunday 28 May
3:57 hrs
241 cm
 
10:32 hrs
-191 cm
 
16:25 hrs
222 cm
 
22:56 hrs
-193 cm
Monday 29 May
4:45 hrs
233 cm
 
11:16 hrs
-181 cm
 
17:13 hrs
205 cm
 
23:45 hrs
-192 cm
Tuesday 30 May
5:36 hrs
219 cm
 
12:05 hrs
-170 cm
 
18:07 hrs
187 cm
Wednesday 31 May
0:35 hrs
-188 cm
 
6:35 hrs
201 cm
 
12:55 hrs
-157 cm
 
19:08 hrs
169 cm
Getijden

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Ebb and flow

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go hiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.

Tips