<

Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches Zoutelande are never the same width because of the tides. When you are in Zoutelande, you might want to take a walk on the beach. It is very useful to know what the tide is.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for Westkapelle for the two following months.

May 2017

Monday 29 May
17:13 hrs
205 cm
 
23:45 hrs
-192 cm
Tuesday 30 May
5:36 hrs
219 cm
 
12:05 hrs
-170 cm
 
18:07 hrs
187 cm
Wednesday 31 May
0:35 hrs
-188 cm
 
6:35 hrs
201 cm
 
12:55 hrs
-157 cm
 
19:08 hrs
169 cm

June 2017

Thursday 1 June
1:35 hrs
-182 cm
 
7:45 hrs
185 cm
 
13:54 hrs
-144 cm
 
20:18 hrs
153 cm
Friday 2 June
2:35 hrs
-173 cm
 
8:56 hrs
170 cm
 
15:05 hrs
-134 cm
 
21:26 hrs
139 cm
Saturday 3 June
3:55 hrs
-165 cm
 
10:05 hrs
161 cm
 
16:40 hrs
-129 cm
 
22:40 hrs
137 cm
Sunday 4 June
5:27 hrs
-162 cm
 
11:16 hrs
163 cm
 
17:56 hrs
-135 cm
 
23:39 hrs
146 cm
Monday 5 June
6:21 hrs
-165 cm
 
12:16 hrs
172 cm
 
18:46 hrs
-142 cm
Tuesday 6 June
0:36 hrs
158 cm
 
7:05 hrs
-166 cm
 
12:59 hrs
181 cm
 
19:26 hrs
-149 cm
Wednesday 7 June
1:19 hrs
169 cm
 
7:46 hrs
-165 cm
 
13:41 hrs
186 cm
 
19:55 hrs
-156 cm
Thursday 8 June
1:58 hrs
178 cm
 
8:16 hrs
-164 cm
 
14:19 hrs
189 cm
 
20:36 hrs
-163 cm
Friday 9 June
2:30 hrs
186 cm
 
8:49 hrs
-164 cm
 
14:50 hrs
192 cm
 
21:10 hrs
-170 cm
Saturday 10 June
3:06 hrs
192 cm
 
9:26 hrs
-162 cm
 
15:25 hrs
193 cm
 
21:50 hrs
-174 cm
Sunday 11 June
3:37 hrs
196 cm
 
10:06 hrs
-158 cm
 
15:58 hrs
192 cm
 
22:25 hrs
-174 cm
Monday 12 June
4:15 hrs
195 cm
 
10:35 hrs
-152 cm
 
16:35 hrs
186 cm
 
23:05 hrs
-171 cm
Tuesday 13 June
4:47 hrs
190 cm
 
11:09 hrs
-145 cm
 
17:06 hrs
178 cm
 
23:35 hrs
-168 cm
Wednesday 14 June
5:21 hrs
184 cm
 
11:46 hrs
-139 cm
 
17:38 hrs
170 cm
Thursday 15 June
0:15 hrs
-166 cm
 
5:56 hrs
177 cm
 
12:19 hrs
-135 cm
 
18:19 hrs
162 cm
Friday 16 June
0:55 hrs
-165 cm
 
6:40 hrs
170 cm
 
13:10 hrs
-131 cm
 
19:09 hrs
152 cm
Saturday 17 June
1:34 hrs
-163 cm
 
7:45 hrs
161 cm
 
14:05 hrs
-128 cm
 
20:26 hrs
144 cm
Sunday 18 June
2:44 hrs
-162 cm
 
9:00 hrs
161 cm
 
15:14 hrs
-128 cm
 
21:30 hrs
146 cm
Monday 19 June
3:44 hrs
-163 cm
 
10:08 hrs
169 cm
 
16:35 hrs
-133 cm
 
22:35 hrs
156 cm
Tuesday 20 June
4:55 hrs
-167 cm
 
11:09 hrs
182 cm
 
17:30 hrs
-143 cm
 
23:37 hrs
174 cm
Wednesday 21 June
6:05 hrs
-173 cm
 
12:07 hrs
199 cm
 
18:30 hrs
-155 cm
Thursday 22 June
0:31 hrs
195 cm
 
7:05 hrs
-181 cm
 
13:00 hrs
215 cm
 
19:26 hrs
-168 cm
Friday 23 June
1:21 hrs
215 cm
 
7:55 hrs
-187 cm
 
13:50 hrs
225 cm
 
20:18 hrs
-180 cm
Saturday 24 June
2:10 hrs
229 cm
 
8:46 hrs
-188 cm
 
14:36 hrs
228 cm
 
21:05 hrs
-188 cm
Sunday 25 June
2:55 hrs
237 cm
 
9:28 hrs
-185 cm
 
15:25 hrs
226 cm
 
21:56 hrs
-193 cm
Monday 26 June
3:45 hrs
240 cm
 
10:15 hrs
-178 cm
 
16:11 hrs
220 cm
 
22:45 hrs
-195 cm
Tuesday 27 June
4:31 hrs
235 cm
 
10:58 hrs
-170 cm
 
17:00 hrs
210 cm
 
23:29 hrs
-195 cm
Wednesday 28 June
5:26 hrs
226 cm
 
11:46 hrs
-160 cm
 
17:50 hrs
199 cm
Thursday 29 June
0:15 hrs
-192 cm
 
6:19 hrs
213 cm
 
12:36 hrs
-151 cm
 
18:46 hrs
185 cm
Friday 30 June
1:09 hrs
-186 cm
 
7:18 hrs
197 cm
 
13:25 hrs
-142 cm
 
19:46 hrs
170 cm
Getijden

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Ebb and flow

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go hiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.

Tips